Interested to see that 2 UK government websites launched new looks today. The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra) have explained what they did in a news page (which reminded me of the one we wrote earlier inthe year when the DFID site changed). I like this site – just had a quick browse rather than a serious quest for information, but the look is fresh and tidy. I confess I learned something too – I didn’t know Defra had responsibility for pets!

The Department for Business Innovation and Skills (BIS) have I think just made cosmetic changes to their wordpress based site – but the whole thing does look very solid and clean. There is a phenomenal amount of information on the home page – plus clear links to BIS presence in social media channels. Another step on the path towards merging 2 complex former departmental sites.

UPDATE: Steph and Neil describe in more detail what they have done at BIS – with pictures (thanks for showing me how much more can be done with a blog post!)

